Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services
You are here : About Us  >  OOD Commissioners


A seven-member commission advises Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities. Members are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Ohio Senate. No more than four commissioners may be of the same political party. Three must be representatives of the rehabilitation profession, including at least one member from the field of services to Ohioans who are blind. At least four commissioners must have a disability, and two or three of them must have received vocational rehabilitation services from a state agency or the Veteran's Administration. Members serve staggered seven-year terms.

The commissioners' biographies are below.


Jack Licate, Ph.D., Chair,  Shaker Heights

Jack Licate photoJack Licate of Shaker Heights brings executive experience as a senior manager and community activist to the commission. Dr. Licate served the Cleveland Clinic Foundation as chairman of its Division of Institutional Relations and Development from 1994-2006 before starting a consulting business for non-profit organizations. Licate has been a senior executive at the Greater Cleveland Growth Partnership, executive director of the Great Lakes Economic Policies Council, and director of the Build Up Great Cleveland program.  He was a geography professor and researcher at St. Louis University, Wayne State University and the University of Michigan. He served on the boards of the MetroHealth System Foundation, the Cleveland Sight Center, and the Honduran Children's Rescue Fund. Licate earned a Bachelor’s degree in geography from St. Louis University, and  Master’s and Doctorate degrees at the University of Chicago. Dr. Licate was reappointed to a second seven-year term at OOD that concludes in September 2022.            


S. Blake Haxton, Vice Chair, Upper Arlington                                   

S. Blake Haxton photoS. Blake Haxton joined the Commission in February 2013 while finishing his senior year at The Ohio State University. In May of 2013, Haxton earned his undergraduate degree in Finance from Ohio State's Fisher College of Business and is enrolled at Ohio State's Moritz College of Law in the J.D. class of 2016. He was born in Columbus in 1990 and has spent most of his life in the central Ohio area. He spends time as a peer advocate working with various amputee support groups in Columbus as well as coaching the Upper Arlington High School rowing team. His term at OOD concludes in September 2016.



David V. Daugherty, Mansfield

David Daugherty photoAppointed in 2005, David Daugherty of Mansfield has been active in the vocational rehabilitation community as board chairman of the American Rehabilitation Association and National Industries for the Severely Handicapped. He is the former president and chief executive officer of Rehabilitation Service of North Central Ohio, and past president of the Richland County Regional Planning Commission. Daugherty has been an active Rotary Club member since 1975, and has served as a district governor. He earned a Bachelor’s degree in speech therapy at Clarion University. His term concludes in 2019.


Jacqueline Romer-Sensky, Westerville

Jacqueline Romer-Sensky photoCommissioner Jacqueline Romer-Sensky of Westerville brings more than 25 years of public executive leadership, policymaking and management experience to OOD. As president of a private consulting firm, she focuses on advancing organizational leadership, strategic initiatives and collaborative enterprises. Romer-Sensky previously served as director of the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services, deputy chief of staff for Ohio Governor George Voinovich, president of the State Controlling Board in the Ohio Office of Budget and Management and director of communications for the Ohio House of Representatives Republican Caucus. Romer-Sensky earned a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism from Ohio University and a Master’s degree in Organizational Leadership from the Graduate Institute of Connecticut. She also completed Harvard University's Senior Executive in State and Local Government Program at the John F. Kennedy School of Government. She was  reappointed to a seven-year term concluding in September 2020.